Common Courtesy

As we all wait for the new expansion to roll around, many of us choose to spend our free time in WOW in many different ways. Some of us do dailies for stockpiling gold. Some of us ride around on our epic flyers looking for mining/herbalism nodes to support our cash flow and consumable requirements. Some of us play alts to pass the time, and sometimes we like to run 5-mans and group quests with our alts. In these instances, we may need help with some of these things along the way.

I would love to think that as a whole, most guilds are selfless, and would do anything for their members. As a general rule, this is spot on. There are many people that will drop what they are doing to help out a guildie, even if it’s not with their main character. This type of behavior is what establishes great guilds. Sometimes though, these random acts of kindness seem to go unnoticed and, at times, without reward.

Common Courtesy 
If you are in a situation where you need the help of a guildie or a few, you should feel free to ask for it. That’s what your guild is there for, to support each other. Just know that sometimes, everyone is not available or willing to drop what they are doing (which may or may not be equally important in your eyes) to come help you out immediately. On the other hand though, if someone DOES offer to help you out, you should keep that in mind the next time that they might need some assistance with one of their characters. It goes without saying that a kind “thank you” is always appreciated, but what would be really nice is if you returned the favor sometime in the near future.

A lot of times this can be pre-arranged. Are you the person that doesn’t like to ask for help? Do you feel uncomfortable posting that you need help with something for your alt? If this is true, then maybe you can come up with a proposition to reciprocate the help for whoever helps you. You can post up front what your plan is. Anything from, “I need help with a group kill quest in Netherstorm. If anyone can tank/heal/dps with me, I’ll help you out on some of your group quests too (for your main or alt),” to “Would anyone be willing to run my alt through SM Cath for a couple items? I’ll run one of your alts through an instance of your choice afterwards.”

Many times we take for granted the acts of kindness we see in game. This can also take place in the form of bumming consumables off other players. If you’re borrowing mana/health pots, elixirs, flasks, food buffs, weapon buffs, or anything that you would normally need for raids, from someone else in the guild, then you should compensate them in some way. Why is it fair that they have to farm for themselves AND for you? If you didn’t have time to farm some mats this week, do a few dailies, node searching, or fishing, and you happen to fall short on your consumables for the week, and you do end up asking someone for mats, you should throw them some gold or repay the mats, or offer them a service (run through on alt) to compensate. It gets really tiring week after week of people asking you to provide them what they should already have, and to add insult to injury, they get nothing to show for it in return.

Overall, building WOW relationships in game is similar to real life. It’s all about the give and take. The more you take and take without giving something in return, the more people are going to start noticing and be unwilling to give you more or help out when needed. As long as you keep that in the back of your mind and just remember that each and every one of us values their time in game. When our time is taken for granted, it starts to make the game not as fun and seems more and more like a job.

On the other hand, if you’re the one feeling like they’re being taken advantage of, then you can’t be apprehensive to ask for help in guild chat, or even ask for the reciprocation of your assistance at some point. At the same time, nobody is going to help you out if you don’t speak up and ask for it.

For the most part, this is not a problem in most guilds. There may be instances where this is the case, but I think that it is very limited. So take into consideration the things that you ask from your fellow members, and always remember to return the favor, even if you’re not asked.

~ by Birkin on February 20, 2008.

3 Responses to “Common Courtesy”

  1. Building relationships in WoW isn’t just similar to real life. It just about reflects real life! =)

    I keep a little scratch pad or make a mental note of whose helped me out in some way before. Then I make every effort I can to work off that ‘debt’. Favors are the currency of socialization. You scratch my back, I scratch yours.

    This translates over to blogging as well, and I keep an especially close eye on bloggers who’ve helped me in the past. 😉

  2. “Favors are the currency of socialization.”

    /steals quote

    You’re right Matticus. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I feel indebted after someone does me a favor. After a few back scratches, you start to build a rapport with that person, and over time it can develop into a true friendship.

  3. I remember my first *real* guild. Why was do I call it real? Because that post is how people acted. We helped each other, sometimes dropping whatever we were doing to do so, and rarely was more than a thank you was expected (but of course, we did reciprocate the favor if given the chance ;)).

    That guild kept me wanting to play for a long time. I mean, I really considered them all friends, and when the game was starting to drag on me, I kept in it BECAUSE of them.

    I’ve moved on since, real life friends have joined, I’m not even on the same server OR side (they were alliance, I’m now horde) but until their forums crashed I periodically checked up on them, and if there was ever a call out for information, I was quick to post :). Although, I’ve moved on, I don’t think I can ever forget such truly great people.

Leave a Reply

 
